“The Sunday after Easter,” Celtic Daily Prayer

“The Sunday after Easter,” Celtic Daily Prayer

Jesus says, ‘Blessed are those who have not seen and yet believe.’ But many of us are much heartened by His special appearing to Thomas, who in his integrity, needed to question in order to firmly believe. In a sense he is the true apostle of the ‘heretical imperative.’

The disciples were assembled behind closed doors when suddenly You entered, O Jesus our almighty God. You stood in their midst, and gave them Your peace; You breathed the Holy Spirit on them. You commanded them to wait in Jerusalem until they would be clothed with power from on high.

And so we cry to You: Glory to You, our resurrection, our light, and our peace!

Eight days after Your resurrection, O Lord, You appeared to Your disciples in the upper room. You greeted them: Peace be with you! You showed Your hands and feed to the doubting disciple. Then in faith he cried to you: ‘Glory to You, my Lord and my God!”

Thomas, called the twin, was absent when you came to Your disciples through closed doors, O Christ. He refused to believe what they told him; but You did not reject him for his faithlessness. When he saw Your side, and the wounds in Your hands and heed, his doubts vanished and his faith was confirmed.

After both seeing and feeling You, he confessed You to be neither an abstract god, not merely a man. He cried: ‘Glory to You, my Lord and my God!”

After Your resurrection, O Lord, Your disciples gathered behind closed doors. You appeared in their midst, and gave them Your peace. When Thomas saw Your hands and side he believed. He confessed You to be his Lord and God, the Saviour of those who trust in You.

Though the doors were locked, Jesus suddenly appeared to the disciples. He calmed their fears and have them peace. Then He said to Thomas: Why do you not believe I am risen from the dead? Bring your hand here. Thrust it into My side and see. Your doubt will teach My passion and resurrection to all, and everyone will join your shout:

‘Glory to You, my Lord and my God.’

Oh, most strange wonder! Doubt has given birth to faith. Thomas said: ‘Unless I see, I will not believe.’ But when he touched the Savior’s side, he understood. He realized that God has suffered in the flesh. He cried to the risen Lord with joyful voice: Glory to You, my Lord and my God!

Oh, most strange wonder! Grass was not scorched by touching fire: Thomas thrust his hand into the fiery side of Jesus Christ our God; he touched Him, yet was not consumed.

Stubbornness of soul was changed to fervent faith. He cried from the depths of his soul: ‘You are my Master, who rose form the dead. Glory to You, my Lord and my God!’

Oh, most strange wonder! John the apostle leaned on the bosom of the Word, but Thomas was made worthy to touch His side.

Glory to You, my Lord and my God!

How great and boundless is the multitude of Your compassions.

Give us understanding, that with Thomas we may cry to You: ‘Glory to You, my Lord and my God!’

Leave a Reply

